Thursday, February 9, 2012

New CEC Kazi Rakib takes oath

The newly appointed chief election commissioner and three out of four election commissioners took oath of office Thursday afternoon.

The other Election Commissioner, Mohammad Shahnewaz, will take oath later. 

Chief Justice Md Muzammel Hossain will administer the oath at the Judges' Lounge of the Supreme Court at 4:30pm. 

Sources said the new EC may start working in a day or two.

President Zillur Rahman on Wednesday formed the five-member Election Commission with Kazi Rakibuddin Ahmad, a former secretary, as the chief election commissioner.

The four other election commissioners are Mohammad Abu Hafiz, a former additional secretary; Mohammad Abdul Mobarrak, a former joint secretary; Brig Gen (retd) Mohammad Zabed Ali; and Mohammad Shahnewaz, a former district and sessions judge.

The new Election Commission (EC) will have a five-year tenure, and will hold the next parliamentary election scheduled for early 2014.

The Cabinet Division published a gazette notification hours after the appointment to that effect.